Blog Posts · Life

Desert Island Discs

Hello everyone. I have a confession…… I have never listened to Desert Island Discs. I blame this on my dodgy hearing and the fact that I can’t hear the radio properly, but I love the idea behind the program, so I was delighted to be tagged in a DID style blog post by Richard who writes Amused and Bemused Blog.You can read his DID post here .

If like me you are not familiar with DID, the idea is to choose 8 music tracks that you would take with you to a desert island and explain why these tracks are significant to you. So here are mine…..

Adam Ant – Stand and Deliver

This was an easy first choice. This song represents (at the grand old age of 7 or 8) the first time I was aware of having a distinct musical preference separate to that of my parents. Adam Ant was also my first celebratory crush. In comparison to other 80’s style icons he was something very different and original. Listening to this track now brings back memories of me and my brother listening to it on our first record player. Hands up who remembers when record players looked like this.

Bon Jovi – Always

This song was released shortly after I had my first baby in 1994. I have always been a big Bon Jovi fan so it is not a surprise that one of their songs would end up in my 8, but the reasons may not be quite so obvious.

The song Always is about a cheating bloke begging his ex for (yet another) chance. There is nothing about the overall theme of the song that relates to my life, but……

Look at the words to the chorus as a completely separate thing. They are beautiful and perfectly described how I felt whenever I looked at my perfect newborn child. I felt at the time as if that chorus had been written just for us

Yeah I, will love you, baby
Always and I’ll be there
Forever and a day, always

I’ll be there, till the stars don’t shine
‘Til the heavens burst and the words don’t rhyme
I know when I die you’ll be on my mind
And I’ll love you, always

Pink – Fucking Perfect 

This song really touches my heart, so much so that there were times in the past when I couldn’t listen to it without crying. In those darker times of my life I was the girl Pink is singing to. The one who is mistaken and misunderstood. The one with the nasty voices in her head. In those times this song was too painful to listen to because I felt the furthest thing from fucking perfect, but this is a song about self acceptance and slowly with the love and support of a few special people I am beginning to see that I am fucking perfect to them.

Foo Fighters – Walk 

Yes, the Foo’s were always going to be in this list somewhere as well. The song Walk was released in 2011. This was the most dramatic year of my life. I had just come out of a 15 year abusive marriage and as well as dealing with suddenly becoming a single parent, I had the mammoth task of finding out who I was again. This song became my anthem,  I was figuratively  learning to walk again.

Green Day – When Its Time

I think in most adults lives there are very few days that stand alone as ‘Perfect Days’. Ones that stick in your memory as being days that 100% match your expectations of how a certain activity or event should go.

In the last 10 years or so I have had a handful of such days. One was the 19 June 2010. I went with my best friend to London to see Green Day play at Wembley stadium. That was the first time I heard this song (the YouTube video was recorded at the gig). I thought it was beautiful at the time and Billy Joe is so damn cute.

A second perfect day for me was April 2oth 2015. My wedding day. When Its Time has the sweetest lyrics and  was the perfect choice for one of the songs to be played during the wedding ceremony.

Taylor Swift Shake It Off

Yes you read that right, the redheaded tattooed steampunk rock chick has included a Taylor swift song in her list. The reason is simple. This is one of Mr A’s favourite songs. It is a silly funny song that always puts a smile on my face and makes me feel happy when I hear it, in the same was that Mr A is a silly funny man who makes me smile and happy when ever I am with him.

The Pogues and Kirtsy MacColl Fairytale of New York

I love Christmas. Always have since a little child. With grown up children Christmas has changed somewhat over the last few years, but I still love it and this is my all time favourite Christmas song simply because it is so unchristmassy. I would happily sing it all year round.

Chris De Burgh Patricia The Stripper

As well as being a bit part if my home life, music also plays a major part of my working life these days. One day a week I support adults with learning disabilities. My role on this day is two-fold. To help them use public transport and to run a karaoke session. Karaoke with the guys is the most fun you can have at work. They sing with wild abandon and not a care about what they sound like. There are a huge number of songs in our collective repertoire but the one you can guarantee will always get everyone up singing is Patricia The Stripper.

So that is my list of 8 tracks. I would love to hear in the comments what tracks you would choose and why.

Scientific Fact* Anxious Dragons feed on blog comments. Please help keep this dragon well fed. Thank you Xxxx

*Possibly not true

8 thoughts on “Desert Island Discs

  1. My parents had one of those ‘radiograms’ ๐Ÿ˜‹!!
    Great songs (although I have to confess, I didn’t know a couple of them!)
    Patricia the Stripper reminds me of great times in the Nurse’s Home when I was training – a group of us in my room, belting it out karaoke style ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚
    Great idea for a post – might do a post of my own soon xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

